Senate passes bills to establish Federal Universities in FCT, Rivers State


Abuja – The Senate on Wednesday passed two bills to establish a Federal University in the Federal Capital Territory and Rivers State. 

They are the FCT University of Science and Technology Abaji (Establishment) Bill, 2022; and Federal University of Environmental Technology, Koroma/Saakperwa Tai Ogoni, Rivers State (Establishment) Bill, 2022.

The bills were passed after the consideration of two separate reports presented by the Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND.

Vice Chairman of the Committee, Senator Sandy Onuh, in a presentation on behalf of the Chairman, Ahmad Babba Kaita, said the bill to establish the Federal Capital Territory University of Science and Technology, Abaji, would provide the legal framework needed by the institution to close the knowledge gap in science and technology.

According to the lawmaker, the bill to establish the Federal University of Environmental Technology, would allow for academic and professional programmes leading to the award of first degrees, post-graduate degrees and diplomas with special emphasis on environmental technology and research. 

Both bills to establish the two federal universities were passed by the chamber after consideration by the Committee of the Whole. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here