Senator Opeyemi chairs seven-man conference committee on sexual harassment bill


Abuja – Senator Micheal Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central), was named the Chairman of the seven-man conference committee on the Sexual Harassment of Students in Tertiary Institutions Prohibition bill.

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday, announced the membership of the conference committee at the start of plenary proceedings.

Recall that the bill was passed by the red chamber on 7th July, 20 and was sponsored by the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege representing Delta Central District. 

Other members of the committee include: Senators Betty Apiafi, Stella Oduah, Abubakar Kyari, Suleiman Umar, Suleiman Abdu Kwari, and Kola Balogun. 

Members of the conference committee are expected to meet with their counterparts in the House of Representatives to harmonise the two versions of the bill passed by both chambers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here