OsunDecides: Adeleke, Davido celebrate PDP’s early lead


Results from the portal of the Independent National Electoral Commission have shown that the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Senator Ademola Adeleke, is leading in the ongoing Osun governorship election.

The results showed that PDP is leading with over 10,000 votes.

The portal also showed that over 87 per cent of the results have been uploaded.

Among the Local Governments whose results have been fully uploaded are Ilesa East, Ifedayo, Boluwaduro, Odo Otin, Osogbo, Irepodun, Ayedade, Iwo, Olorunda, Orolu, Boripe and Obokun.

The PDP candidate maintained a lead in seven LGAs while Oyetola is leading in four LGAs.

As of 08.45 pm, a compilation of the results showed that PDP had over 94,803 votes and PDP obtained over 81,697 votes.

In a video that surfaced online, Adeleke and award-winning Nigerian singer, David Adeleke, popularly known as Davido, were also seen celebrating the opposition party’s early lead.

In the video obtained by our correspondent on Saturday, Adeleke and Davido hugged.

“We did it this time,” Adeleke said, with Davido replying, “yes”.

Also, wild jubilation has engulfed PDP’s situation room.

In Olorunda LGA, Adeleke polled 21, 350 votes while Oyetola secured 18,709 votes.

In Ede South, Adeleke got 19,438 votes while the governor scored 5704.

Adeleke obtained 10,282 votes while Oyetola secured 9,928 votes in Orolu LGA.

The PDP candidate also won in Osogbo. He scored 30,401 votes to defeat Oyetola who secured 22,952 votes.

Adeleke got 14,003 votes while Oyetola picked up 13,482 in Odo Otin LGA.

Oyetola placed second with 16,068 votes in Ifelodun LGA, where Adeleke picked up 17,107 votes.

PDP won Irepodun LGA with 14,369 votes while the APC got 12,122.

The Osun governor won in Iwo LGA with 17, 421 votes compared to the 16,914 secured by Adeleke.

With 14,527 votes, Oyetola also beat Adeleke who had 13,380 votes in Ayedade LGA.

Oyetola also won in Boripe LGA. He scored 21,205 votes to defeat the PDP candidate who had 7595.

Adeleke lost Isokan LGA to Oyetola by a slim margin. PDP had 10,777 votes while APC scored 10,833 votes.

Meanwhile, the caretaker chairman of the PDP in Osun State, Dr Akindele Adekunle, in a statement issued at Osogbo on Saturday evening, claimed the party has secured a majority, as well as more than two third spread across the 30 local governments and area offices.

While thanking the people of Osun State for endorsing and affirming Ademola Adeleke’s governorship bid, the party “sternly warns against any attempt to tamper with the result of the election”.

“We want to assert that Ademola Adeleke has won this election overwhelmingly going by results at our disposal. We warn against any plot by some agents of chaos to doctor the results.

“We specifically call on the Electoral commission to watch fifth columnists within its fold who may have been contracted for the hatchet job. Osun people have decided and their votes must be respected,” the statement added.

Though 15 political parties participated in the election, the top contenders are the candidate of APC, Governor Gboyega Oyetola and the candidate of the PDP, Ademola Adeleke.

This is the second time the two candidates would be meeting.

Both Oyetola and Adeleke contested for the Osun governorship seat in 2018, which Oyetola won after a rerun.

After the rerun election which took place in seven units, Oyetola won seven, while Adeleke won one.

At the end of the rerun, Oyetola polled 255,505 votes while the PDP candidate scored a total of 255,023 votes.

Although Adeleke had led Oyetola with 353 votes at the end of the first round of ballots, but after the rerun, Oyetola won with 482 votes.

The PUNCH had reported that 15 political parties participated in the election with 1,955,657 registered voters.

The Independent National Electoral Commission had also said the election would take place in 332 registration areas across the 30 local government areas of the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here